downloadGroupGroupnoun_press release_995423_000000 copyGroupnoun_Feed_96767_000000Group 19noun_pictures_1817522_000000Member company iconResource item iconStore item iconGroup 19Group 19noun_Photo_2085192_000000 Copynoun_presentation_2096081_000000Group 19Group Copy 7noun_webinar_692730_000000Path
Skip to main content

Event to Honor Dr. Lawrence T. Pileggi of Carnegie Mellon University for Significant Contributions to the Electronic System Design Industry

MILPITAS, Calif. –– January 30, 2024 –– The Phil Kaufman Award ceremony and banquet honoring Dr. Lawrence Pileggi of Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) as the 2023 award recipient will be held Thursday, February 22, 6:30-9:30pm at The GlassHouse in San Jose, Calif.

Dr. Pileggi, CMU’s Coraluppi Head and Tanoto Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, received the award for his pioneering contributions to circuit simulation and optimization. These advances have enabled the electronics system design industry to address the challenge of interconnect delay dominated designs. Dr. Pileggi has also contributed to innovations in Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE) education.

Dr. Walden Rhines, President and CEO of Cornami, Inc., former CEO of Mentor Graphics (now Siemens), and the 2015 Phil Kaufman Award recipient, will emcee the ceremony. The tribute speaker will be Dr. Andrzej Strojwas of CMU, the CTO of PDF Solutions and the 2016 Phil Kaufman Award recipient.

The annual award ceremony and banquet are sponsored by the Electronic System Design Alliance (ESD Alliance), a SEMI Technology Community, and the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA). Tickets are $250 for members of SEMI and IEEE and $300 per non-member. Registration for the event on the ESD Alliance or CEDA websites.

About the Phil Kaufman Award
The Phil Kaufman Award honors individuals who have had a demonstrable impact on the field of electronic system design through technology innovations, education/mentoring, or business or industry leadership. The award was established as a tribute to Phil Kaufman, the late industry pioneer who turned innovative technologies into commercial businesses that have benefited electronic designers. The 2022 recipient was Dr. Giovanni de Micheli, Professor and Director of the Institute of Electrical Engineering and of the Integrated Systems Centre at EPF Lausanne, Switzerland.

About the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA)
The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) provides a focal point for EDA activities spread across seven IEEE societies –Antennas and Propagation, Circuits and Systems, Computer, Electron Devices, Electronics Packaging, Microwave Theory and Techniques, and Solid-State Circuits). CEDA sponsors a portfolio of over 30 conferences including ASP-DAC, DATE, DAC, ESWEEK, and ICCAD. Its award program recognizes EDA professionals which includes the A. Richard Newton, Phil Kaufman, and Ernest S. Kuh Early Career awards.

Stay in touch with IEEE CEDA

About the Electronic System Design Alliance
The Electronic System Design (ESD) Alliance, a SEMI Technology Community representing members in the electronic system and semiconductor design ecosystem, is a community that addresses technical, marketing, economic and legislative issues affecting the entire industry. It acts as the central voice to communicate and promote the value of the semiconductor design ecosystem as a vital component of the global electronics industry. Visit the ESD Alliance to learn more.

Follow the ESD Alliance

About SEMI
SEMI® is the global industry association connecting over 3,000 member companies and 1.5 million professionals worldwide across the semiconductor and electronics design and manufacturing supply chain. We accelerate member collaboration on solutions to top industry challenges through Advocacy, Workforce Development, Sustainability, Supply Chain Management and other programs. Our SEMICON® expositions and events, technology communities, standards and market intelligence help advance our members’ business growth and innovations in design, devices, equipment, materials, services and software, enabling smarter, faster, more secure electronics. Visit, contact a regional office, and connect with SEMI on LinkedIn and X to learn more.

All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Association Contacts

Nanette Collins/ESDA
Phone: 1.617.437.1822

Michael Hall/SEMI
Phone: 1.408.943.7988

Amanda Osborn/IEEE-CEDA
Phone: 1.352.872.5544 ext. 123